Quicknav Close

Native apps

Platform-specific or device-specific app

Native apps are developed from scratch for a specific platform such as iOS, Android or Windows phone. An explicitly for a platform written source code is termed as "native.". For Apple products the programming language is Swift (formerly objective-C). When applications are written for a platform, the programmer can access all properties in the API of a mobile device: sensors can be addressed directly, the camera can upload a photo directly to the app, etc. Ideally all apps would be developed natively, because this way the specifications of the manufacturer can be kept perfectly the usability features of the user interfaces can be tailored precisely to a device and thus achieve a high performance.

Native App

Native apps are expensive in the maintenance and development

When a native app is developed, it must be tailored to the diversity of devices of the manufacturer. At Apple, for example, there are various versions of the operating system, types of devices and screen sizes, which need to be considered individually. New versions of the operating system or new versions of the programming language are issued regularly. In this respect, these applications must be updated continually which results in high costs.

 

Android (Google)

< 7>iOS (Apple)

Windows Phone (Microsoft)

Programming language

Java

Objective-C

New at iOS 8: Swift

C#

Development environment

Android Studio, Netbeans or Eclipse

XCode oder

Xamarin

Visual studio

OS-versions

(each new release causes updates and costs for native Apps)

Eclair (2.0–2.1)

Froyo (2.2–2.2.3)

Gingerbread (2.3–2.3.7)

Honeycomb (3.0–3.2.6)

Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0–4.0.4)

Jelly Bean (4.1–4.3.1)

Windows Phone 7

Windows Phone 7.5

Windows phone 7.8

Windows Phone 8

8.1 Windows phone

Windows phone 10

iPhone OS 2.x

iPhone OS 3.x

iOS 4.x

iOS 5.x

iOS 6.x

iOS 7.x

iOS 8.x

iOS 9.x


Alternatives to the native app

There are some. A regular Web-App, which can be opened directly in the browser on your smartphone or an Hybrid App that needs to be installed through the App store, and only has certain "native" functions - the rest of the app is loaded as a responsive HTML in the app.

Native or non native?

If the app must work on all platforms, support tablets and is it mostly used to retrieve information and entering of data, then a Web App is clearly more useful and cost-effective.

For apps, that are resource-intensive, it is worthwhile to make a native app. For example, to this category belong games, drawing applications, GPS tracking and the like. A comparison of different technologies can be found here: Web app vs. Native app vs. Hybrid app

cloudtec as a software development partner

We program and design passionately sophisticated software solutions. Our experts will assist you in choosing the right technology.

by cloudtec Published: Updated: 9. Juni 2017

cloudtec AG
Sandrainstrasse 17 3007 Bern Switzerland

Quicknav Close

Native Apps

Plattformspezifische oder gerätespezifische App

Native Apps werden von Grund auf für eine spezifische Plattform wie iOS, Android oder Windows Phone entwickelt. Als „nativ“ wird explizit für eine Plattform geschriebener Source Code bezeichnet. Bei Apple-Produkten ist die Programmiersprache Swift (vorher Objective-C). Werden Applikationen für eine Plattform geschrieben, kann der Programmierer auf alle in der API zugänglichen Eigenschaften eines mobilen Gerätes zugreifen: Sensoren können direkt angesprochen werden, die Kamera kann ein Foto direkt in die App hochladen usw. Idealerweise würden alle Apps nativ entwickelt, da somit die Vorgaben der Hersteller optimal eingehalten werden können, die Usability-Funktionen des User Interfaces passgenau auf ein Gerät abgestimmt werden können und so eine hohe Performance erreicht wird.

Native App

Native Apps sind teuer in der Wartung und Entwicklung

Wird eine native App entwickelt, muss sie auf die Geräte-Vielfalt des Herstellers abgestimmt werden. Bei Apple zum Beispiel gibt es diverse Betriebssystemversionen, Gerätetypen und Bildschirmgrössen, welche individuell berücksichtigt werden müssen. Regelmässig werden neue Versionen des Betriebssystems oder neue Versionen der Programmiersprache herausgegeben. Insofern müssen diese Applikationen fortwährend aktualisiert werden, was hohe Kosten verursacht.

 

Android (Google)

iOS (Apple)

Windows Phone (Microsoft)

Programmiersprache

Java

Objective-C

Neu ab iOS 8: Swift

C#

Entwicklungsumgebung

Android Studio, Netbeans oder Eclipse

XCode oder

Xamarin

Visual Studio

OS-Versionen

(jeder neue Release bedingt Updates bei nativen Apps und verursacht Kosten)

Eclair (2.0–2.1)

Froyo (2.2–2.2.3)

Gingerbread (2.3–2.3.7)

Honeycomb (3.0–3.2.6)

Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0–4.0.4)

Jelly Bean (4.1–4.3.1)

Windows Phone 7

Windows Phone 7.5

Windows Phone 7.8

Windows Phone 8

Windows Phone 8.1

Windows Phone 10

iPhone OS 2.x

iPhone OS 3.x

iOS 4.x

iOS 5.x

iOS 6.x

iOS 7.x

iOS 8.x

iOS 9.x


Alternativen zur Native App

Die gibt es. Eine reguläre Web-App, die direkt im Browser auf dem Smartphone aufgerufen wird oder eine Hybrid-App, die über den App-Store installiert werden muss, jedoch nur gewisse Funktionen „nativ“ hat – der Rest der App wird als Responsive HTML im die App geladen.

Native oder nicht native?

Muss die App auf allen Plattformen funktionieren, Tablets unterstützen und wird sie mehrheitlich zum Abrufen von Informationen und Eintragen von Daten verwendet, dann ist eine Web App klar sinnvoller und kostengünstiger.

Für Apps, welche ressourcenintensiv sind, lohnt es sich eine native App herzustellen. In diese Kategorie fallen zum Beispiel Spiele, Zeichnungsanwendungen, GPS Tracking und dergleichen. Eine Gegenüberstellung der verschiedenen Technologien finden Sie hier: Web App vs. Native App vs. Hybrid-App

cloudtec als Software-Entwicklungspartner

Wir programmieren und entwerfen leidenschaftlich gerne anspruchsvolle Software-Lösungen. Gerne helfen ihnen unsere Fachexperten bei der richtigen Technologie-Wahl.

by cloudtec Veröffentlicht: Aktualisiert: 9. Juni 2017

cloudtec GmbH
Sandrainstrasse 17 3007 Bern Switzerland